WASHINGTON, D.C. (WVEC) -- The good news: the government won't shut down at midnight tonight. The bad news: it still could happen in another two weeks.

Lawmakers averted disaster by passing another temporary funding extension called a Continuing Resolution.

The new Continuing Resolution passed in the Senate 81-14, and in the House 235-193, but not without some misgivings.

"It's a very bad way to run the government," said Rep. Scott Taylor (R-Va., 2nd District). "I don't like CR's. CR's are bad for planning, for multi-year projects, for the industrial base, for the military. They're very bad for the military."

This CR does ensure that Defense Department operations and other federal programs won't be disrupted this weekend or in the coming two weeks. But there are no guarantees beyond December 22.

The last time there was a shutdown in 2013, the temporary impact in Hampton Roads was severe, with 21,000 civil servants furloughed for 13 days, impacting purchases of various goods and services throughout the region until the shutdown ended, and those workers got reimbursed.

"A shutdown is really bad for us, our region particularly," said Christopher Newport University Political Science Professor Quentin Kidd. "A shutdown is really bad for Virginia generally."

Kidd is worried that even though stopgap funding does keep the government open for a short period of time, eventually there will be a day of reckoning.

"At some point, we're going to have a couple of these continuing resolutions, one side or the other is going to say, 'No, I'm not going to agree to anything until we have the hard discussion over the issue that's important to me,'" he said. "That's probably when we'll have a shutdown. I expect that to come in late January, early February. Maybe mid-February."

In the Senate both of Virginia's Senators, Democrats Mark Warner and Tim Kaine, voted yes on the new, temporary continuing resolution to keep the government open. In the House, Republican Scott Taylor also voted yes.

But, Republican Rep.Rob Wittman (R-Va., 1st District) voted no, as did Democrats Donald McEachin (D-Va., 4th District) and Bobby Scott (D-Va., 3rd District).