NORFOLK, Va. – Norfolk State University rising senior linebacker Kyle Archie is one of 146 collegiate football players nationwide nominated for the 2017 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®, one of the most prestigious off-the-field honors in college football.

Since 1992, the Allstate American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Good Works Team® has brought together a select group of college football players from across the country to honor their dedication to volunteerism and enriching the lives of others. While players are often recognized for their accomplishments and achievements on game day, these student-athletes have made significant contributions to the greater good of society, inspiring future generations of young athletes and the larger college football community.

"Allstate is immensely honored to partner with the AFCA for the 10th year to help pay tribute to these players and their off-the-field 'good works' that often go unnoticed and unrewarded," said Thomas Clarkson, president of the west territory for Allstate Insurance Company and a member of the 2017 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel. "The individuals nominated to the 2017 Good Works Team® are making a positive impact and uniting communities across the country through service, showing what's possible when you put all hands in and give back."

Archie is one of 70 players nominated from the NCAA Division I FCS, II and II and NAIA levels. Archie is a regular volunteer at several local elementary schools in the Norfolk area, serving as a mentor to children in addition to chaperoning field trips. He assists at football practice for a local youth league team, and also donates his time at several area youth football camps during the year.

On the field, Archie was a third-team All-MEAC selection last season. He was second on the team and third in the MEAC with 8.1 tackles per game in 2016 (73 total). Archie also recorded five tackles for loss, three pass breakups, one sack, one interception and one forced fumble.

Comprised of 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and 11 players from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and the NAIA, the final roster of 22 award recipients will be unveiled in September. A special voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® members and prominent college football media members will select the 2017 Good Works Team®. Two-time national champion, Heisman Trophy winner and 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® member Tim Tebow will headline the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel.