Calif. law requires rear-facing car seats for kids under 2

A new law in 2017 says parents in California have to keep their babies rear-facing until 2 years old.

So, we wondered-- what are the car seat laws in Missouri and Illinois?

Missouri law requires all children less than 1 year old or less than 20 pounds to be rear-facing. After that, children are required to be secured in an approved child safety seat until the age of 4.

In Missouri, children under 40 pounds should ride in a safety seat with a full harness. After they reach 40 pounds, they can be moved to a booster seat. It's recommended children stay in a booster until they reach age 8, 80 pounds, or 4-feet-9-inches.

In Illinois, there is no law requiring children to be rear-facing. The state's Child Passenger Protection Act states children under the age of 8 must be secured in a child safety seat, but if the vehicle is equipped with lap belts only in the back seat, a child wearing more than 40 pounds may be transported in the back seat wearing a lap belt only.

In 2011, the American Academy of Pediatrics recommended parents to keep their toddlers in rear-facing car seats until they are 2 years old, or until they reach the maximum height and weight for their seat.


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment
More Stories