Morgan wins Commonwealth Attorney race in Accomack

ACCOMACK COUNTY, Va. (Delmarva Now) -- J. Spencer Morgan III will be Accomack County's new Commonwealth's Attorney.

Morgan, who is currently Assistant Commonwealth's Attorney in Accomack, won a hotly contested three-way race over his opponents, current Commonwealth's Attorney Matthew C. Brenner and defense attorney Carl H. Bundick.

Click here for more election results

With all but the central absentee ballot precinct reporting, Morgan garnered more than 41 percent of the vote, with 6,193 votes for Spencer, compared to 4,713 for Brenner and 4,047 for Bundick, according to unofficial results.

"I am honored by the efforts of all my supporters who made this electoral win possible. Now the real work begins," Morgan said in a Facebook post on his campaign page Tuesday night.

"Thank you to the voters of Accomack County for trusting in me," he added.

In the Presidential election, Republican Donald J. Trump prevailed in Accomack County, with 8,582 votes to 6,737 votes cast for Democrat Hillary Clinton. Additionally, 262 votes were cast for Libertarian Party candidate Gary Johnson; 62 were cast for Green Party candidate Jill Stein; 112 were cast for Independent Evan McMullin; and 52 write-in votes for president were cast in the county.

In the 2nd District Congressional race, Republican Scott W. Taylor won in Accomack with 9,488 votes to 5,658 votes for Democrat Shaun Brown.

In one of several town elections on Virginia's Eastern Shore, Bloxom's R. Scott Callander, running unopposed for mayor, received 97 votes, with 11 write-in votes also tallied.

Five names were on the ballot for six town council seats in Bloxom, meaning the sixth winner was to be determined by the 51 write-in votes.

The five on the ballot and elected are: Thomas W. Beasley, Samuel H. Bloxom Jr., Peter G. Bourbeau II, Christopher F. Kreisl and Jenny K. Kreisl.

Louella H. Fox received the most write-in votes, 22, for the sixth council seat.

In Melfa, Denise D. Bendick, with no opposition on the ballot, received 182 votes for mayor, with six write-in votes cast.

Five names also were on the ballot for six council seats in Melfa, meaning the sixth council member was to be determined by 25 write-in votes.

On the ballot and elected to Melfa town council are: Nancy L. Crockett, Brian B. Langley, Daniel F. Macca, David A. Peffer and James Robert Wilson.

Charles Wilbur received the greatest number of write-in votes, 4, for the sixth seat.

Elected officials must be registered voters; if anyone who wins an office through write-in votes is not a registered voter, they may register to vote before assuming the office if they wish to serve.

In Painter, Connie Widgeon Campbell, also running unopposed for mayor, garnered 60 votes, with one write-in vote.

Painter town council members elected are: Barry C. Frey, Eric T. Harris, Stephen J. Hearne, Kim Randall Savage, Jimmy N. Sturgis and Thomas L. Willett.

In Northampton County, Clinton won with 3,255 votes to 2,686 votes cast for Trump. Additionally, 116 votes were cast in Northampton for Johnson, 40 for Stein, 37 for McMullin and there were 33 write-in votes for president, according to unofficial results.

Taylor also prevailed over Brown in Northampton in the House of Representatives race — he received 3,240 votes to 2,741 for Brown.

In a town election in Northampton County, 40 write-in votes were cast for mayor in Nassawadox, where no one was on the ballot as a candidate.

Estelle Murphy won the mayoral election with 14 write-in votes.

Nassawadox also elected six town council members: Terry Teresa Custis, John W. Hallett Sr., Claude F. Jones, Lisa P. McDonald, Drury M. Stith and Patricia S. Stith.

On Twitter @cvvaughnESN


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment