NORFOLK- The Norfolk State University Board of Visitors voted to remove the University's president Friday afternoon.

The board's vote was 7-4 to fire Tony Atwater who has been president of the school since 2011.

The Provost for the university, Dr. Sandra DeLoatch, has been named acting president. DeLoatch has been with the university for over 30 years.

Atwater was appointed the fifth president of Norfolk State University on April 22, 2011, according to the school's website.

He previously served as a Senior Fellow of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, a leadership association serving more than 400 public colleges and universities nationwide.

According to the website, Atwater served as president and chief executive officer at Indiana University of Pennsylvania and prior to that served as provost and vice president for academic affairs at Youngstown State University in Ohio.

Other administrative assignments included serving as dean of the College of Professional Studies and Education at Northern Kentucky University; chairperson of the Rutgers University Department of Journalism and Mass Media; and special assistant to the provost at the University of Connecticut. He also served as associate vice president for academic affairs at the University of Toledo.

Read or Share this story: