UPDATE 5/28: Individuals and families who were affected by the April 25, 2014 tornadoes, high winds and severe storms, in Beaufort, Camden, Chowan, Craven, Gates, Hyde, Martin, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt and Washington counties have till July 14, 2014 to make application with the US Small Business Administration for a disaster home or business loan.

RALEIGH -- Financial assistance is now available to help individuals and business owners recover from tornadoes that recently struck eastern North Carolina.

Nine tornadoes swept through the state April 25, killing one and injuring 28 others.

An EF3 tornado with winds of 150 miles per hour caused a 21-mile path of destruction across Beaufort County. Two EF2 tornadoes with winds up to 125 miles per hour tore 35- and 40-mile paths across Bertie, Chowan, Perquimans and Pasquotank counties. The storms caused significant damage in 17 counties, flooding roads, toppling trees and knocking out power to more than 6,000 residences and businesses.

The U.S. Small Business Administration and Gov. Pat McCrory issued disaster declarations Thursday for Beaufort, Pasquotank and Perquimans counties, as well as any adjacent counties.

'Families and small business owners can take some encouragement that they will have a financing element to help replace some of their losses and begin rebuilding in earnest,' said Governor McCrory, who noted that North Carolinians can apply for aid beginning tomorrow. 'This assistance will help families and small business owners get back to normal after going through some trying times.'

The U.S. Small Business Administration disaster declaration means residents and business owners in the declared and adjacent counties can apply for low-interest federal loans in the following amounts:
Homeowners up to $240,000 to repair or replace their homes and some personal belongings
Renters up to $40,000 to replace personal belongings
Business Owners up to $2 million for business property losses

Beginning Friday, state and federal emergency management agency representatives will staff three Disaster Loan Outreach Centers to help individuals complete their applications.

Beaufort County Health Department
1436 Highland Drive
Washington, 27889

Pasquotank County Cooperative Extension Office
1209 McPherson Street
Elizabeth City, 27909

Perquimans County
Albemarle Commission Building
512 South Church Street
Hertford, 27944

Each of the centers will be open from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. Friday, May 16 through Thursday, May 22. The centers will be closed on Sunday, May 18.

Read or Share this story: